Is this a correct double? A3 v 4
  • A3 v 4 ? I thought it is a double, but told wrong play using the site game. If it is wrong would it be correct if the count (unbalanced) is at say -7 in 8D game?
  • jimpenn said:
    A3 v 4 ? I thought it is a double, but told wrong play using the site game. If it is wrong would it be correct if the count (unbalanced) is at say -7 in 8D game?


    A/3 vs. 4 is a correct double only in single deck, or in double deck where it's H17 -- but only by less than a tenth of a percent on a hand that comes up once every 1100 deals.

    Where basic strategy is concerned, you can simply follow the "Rule of 9" -- which says to soft double against a 3 or 4 only if your kicker (the 3 in your A/3) added to the dealer's up-card equals 9 or more.

    When counting an 8 deck shoe with an unbalanced count, doubling becomes correct at -2RC with Red 7 and at 19RC with KISS. With KO, it would jump around quite a bit depending upon current shoe depth.
  • Mr. Renzey, I certainly appreciate your reponse to my post. The Rule of 9...

    Some times I forget that many posts today are based on single deck strategy that is rarely found in the east.

    http://renzey.casinocitytimes.com/articles/1054.html Exception - A4 v4 As recommended in My. Renzey's article remember this and you will have "The Rule of 9" down perfect.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!