Amounts to bet?
  • Thanks again to everyone who answered and will answer my post below. What I'm curious about is HOW MUCH should I bet when I buy in with $1,000. And what should I do when the count goes in my favor? I'm curious though, with a $1k or $2k buy in, what are good amounts to bet?

Thanks-

Erik

P.S. I'm going tonight, so I'll apply the advice I have gotten so far.
  • You probably shouldn't bet anything.
  • Considering I'm up since I started playing blackjack, I'm willing to go and bet, thanks for the cynical reply anyways.

Erik
  • that is a complex question that needs the answers to the following before an answer is possible:

(1) how big is your bankroll?

(2) what risk of ruin can you tolerate? Another way to state this is "how bad would it hurt if you lost everything?" A pro gambler plays with a low RoR for that reason. A "weekend warrior" would play much more aggressively if he has a bankroll that is replinishable over time.

(3) what kind of game will you be playing (single-deck, double-deck, shoe?)

(4) what are the rules used? (H17 vs S17, DA2 vs D9-11, etc).

(5) what counting system do you use?

Once you answer all of those, a program like CVCX can tell you the "optimal betting ramp" (how many chips at each different true-count) to maintain your chosen risk of ruin while maximizing your bankroll growth within that risk of ruin. the optimal betting ramp varies by game and rules.
  • SSR,

I'll be buying in at the first table for $1,000. My total bankroll tonight is $4,000.
    I can tolerate losing the entire $4,000 as well. Though that's never fun : (

I'll be playing a Shoe-6 deck's. Rules are S17 and that's it, you can double or split on anything you want-you can split any 10 as well, though I won't be doing that, I don't think.

I use a multi level count as well.