hi-lo unbalanced option
  • newbie counter here. Practicing, practicing, practicing.

I'm heading to vegas in a couple weeks and most of the time I will be flat betting. Will try counting simply to find out points to wong out of a shoe or to increase my bets slightly. Probably won't spread much past 1-5.

Now I realize this probably wont give me an advantage but I'm new to counting so I don't expect a huge change in fortunes. Play BS and slowly trying to improve my game.

Here's the question I have. When I flip through a couple decks thowing 1-4 cards out at a time trying to keep up with a real fast deal I sometimes get tripped up at the crossover points from -1 to +1. What if I modified the count by doing an unbalanced count and starting at say +10. less likely to get tripped up and if the count ever got to 0 I'd be long gone from that shoe anyway.

I don't plan on modifying my play based on the count (except possibly taking insurance/even money at a very high count) just looking for a guide for bet levels (for now)

Granted it would be harder to figure the true count (subtract 10 divide by decks left..) but remember I am just trying to get a relative count value for now.

Opinions?
  • Loren- What you are suggesting will work just fine, but why don't you
    start your count at 50 and drop the +/- thing altogether. For the small
    cards, just count backward, 49,48,47,46,45. With one deck gone, the
    count would be +1 at 45. large cards just count up,51,52,53,54,55 and
    at 55 you have a -1. Consider the following sequence: A,2,K,6,5,5,10,J.
    Your count would go like so: 51,50,51,50,49,48,49,50/neutral.
    (all this assumes a 6 deck shoe)

Ray
  • Ray,

I understand why it would be good to start at 50 instead of 10 (remove all possibility of the +/- things coming into play, but why would I want to switch things around and have low cards be -1 and high cards to be +1. Seems counter-intuitive.