Double on soft 19?
  • Over at Blackjackinfo.com the basic strategy calculator has the following plays for situations where the dealer hits a soft 17:

- Double a soft 19 when the dealer shows 6
    - Split 4s when the dealer shows 5 or 6

Are these legit?
    I've been playing for a few years now and haven't seen these in any of the blackjack books I have.

Thanks for any input.
  • Trenton said:
    Over at Blackjackinfo.com the basic strategy calculator has the following plays for situations where the dealer hits a soft 17:

- Double a soft 19 when the dealer shows 6
    - Split 4s when the dealer shows 5 or 6

Are these legit?
    I've been playing for a few years now and haven't seen these in any of the blackjack books I have.

Thanks for any input.

Well, you split 4,4 vs. 5 or 6 if DAS. If you play in a game that doesn’t have DAS than you have to use card counting index to know when to double 44 vs. 5 or 6 and when not to .

If you have A8 vs. 6 you’ve got to use card count index for this play.

I assume you are using a valid card counting else you don’t have a chance with BS only.
  • Hmmm... at blackjackinfo.com they have these plays right in their "Basic Strategy" engine with no mention of counting. Also, the plays are there whether you double after split or not... they hinge on whether or not the dealer stands on a soft 17.

Not only that, when you play their simulator and don't split 4s or double a soft 19, the Strategy Coach informs you you've made a mistake.

Yup, I count. KO with all the fixin's and sometimes Hi-Lo.
  • I've never seen the site your referring to but it looks like they have some rules defined wrong.

Alex has it right...
    1. split 4's against 5 or 6 depends on the DAS rule, not S17 or H17
    2. soft 19 vs dealer 6 is an index play (double) for counters, for BS you should stand.
  • Trenton- In his charts if you remove DAS then he don't split 44 vs 5,6.
    The soft 19 is just plain wrong........